Ludwig Pfeiffer

Hargeisa / Somaliland

Last week Slobodan Pilipovic, authorized representative of the company Ludwig Pfeiffer, signed the contract for our first project in Somaliland. As part of the project, approximately 149 km of potable water pipes will be laid and four water reservoirs will be built. In addition, a basic sanitation with public toilets, a small wastewater treatment plant and septic tanks will be implemented.

The purpose of this project, which is financed by the German financing bank KfW, is to improve the drinking water supply and access to basic sanitation of the predominantly poor population in the underserved districts of Hargeisa in a sustainable, socially and environmentally sound manner.

“Somaliland” declared its independence in 1991, but is still not recognized internationally. Political instability prevented much needed investment during the ast years. Due to the large population growth and the continuing influx of refugees, today’s access rates to adequate water supply in Hargeisa are low.

Ludwig Pfeiffer

Hargeisa / Somaliland

Letzte Woche hat Slobodan Pilipovic, bevollmächtigter Vertreter des Unternehmens Ludwig Pfeiffer, den Vertrag für unser erstes Projekt in Somaliland unterzeichnet. Im Rahmen des Projektes werden ca. 149 km Trinkwasserleitungen verlegt und vier Wasserreservoire erbaut. Darüber hinaus wird eine Basissanitärversorgung mit öffentlichen Toiletten, einer kleinen Kläranlage und Klärgruben umgesetzt.

Ziel dieser mit Fördermitteln der Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) finanzierten Maßnahme ist es, die Trinkwasser- und Basissanitärversorgung der überwiegend armen Bevölkerung in den unterversorgten Stadtvierteln Hargeisas nachhaltig, sozial- und umweltverträglich zu verbessern.

„Somaliland“ erklärte sich 1991 unabhängig, wird bis heute jedoch international nicht anerkannt. Politische Instabilität verhinderte jahrelang dringend notwendige Investitionen. Aufgrund des großen Bevölkerungswachstums und des anhaltenden Flüchtlingszustroms sind die heutigen Zugangsraten zu einer angemessenen Wasserversorgung in Hargeisa gering.